Rangers announce 2019 opening day roster

Rangers 2-0 win Mariners

The Texas Rangers announced their 2019 opening day roster on Thursday.

PITCHERS (13): Kyle Bird, Jesse Chavez, Kyle Dowdy, Jeanmar Gomez, Shawn Kelley, Jose Leclerc, Lance Lynn, Chris Martin, Shelby Miller, Mike Minor, Drew Smiley, Jeffrey Springs, Edinson Volquez.

CATCHERS (2): Isiah Kiner-Falefa, Jeff Mathis.

INFIELDERS (5): Elvis Andrus, Asdubal Cabrera, Logan Forsythe, Ronald Guzman, Rougned Odor.

OUTFIELDERS (5): Shin-Soo Choo, Delino DeShields, Joey Gallo, Nomar Mazara, Hunter Pence.

10-DAY DL (1): RHP Luke Farrell.

60-DAY DL (2): OF Scott Heineman, LHP Yohander Mendez.

Rangers beat Dodgers spring training
For more information, visit http://www.smithmankins.com

To get to the opening day limit of 25 players, the Rangers:

  • Selected the contracts of RHP Jeanmar Gomez, INF Logan Forsythe, and OF Hunter Pence from Triple-A Nashville.
  • Designated RHP Connor Sadzeck for assignment.
  • Optioned OF Zack Granite to Triple-A Nashville.
  • Assigned RHP Adrian Sampson to Triple-A Nashville.
  • Placed LHP Yohander Mendez (right UCL sprain) on the 10-day injured list, retroactive to March 25.
  • Placed RHP Luke Farrell (non-displaced jaw fracture) on the 60-day injured list.

The Rangers commence the 2019 season against the Chicago Cubs with a 3:05 p.m. first pitch from Globe Life Park in Arlington.